Since 2024 Friedrich Praetorius is Kapellmeister at the Deutsche Oper Berlin. His schedule performances cover a broad repertoire from *La Bohème*, *La Traviata*, *Rigoletto*, *Die Zauberflöte*, *Hänsel und Gretel* to *Il barbiere di Siviglia*. Previously he was engaged in the same position at the German National Theatre Weimar and Theatre Chemnitz. He is a 1st prize winner several times, both nationally and internationally, including the 10th Conducting Competition for Opera Conductors in Orvieto (Italy), the 11th Conducting Competition of Central-German Universities of Music and the 1st Conducting Competition of the University Almeria (Spain), as well as 2nd Prize winner of the CAMPUS DIRIGIEREN 2022. In 2023 he was nominated to the artist list "Konzertförderung Forum Dirigieren" (formerly "Maestros von Morgen"). Since 2023 Friedrich Praetorius is chief conductor as well as artistic director of the festival "SummerMusicAcademy Hundisburg Castle".

He began his education as a member of the "St. Thomas Boys Choir" and studied with Prof. Nicolás Pasquet and Prof. Ekhart Wycik at the Weimar Hochschule für Musik FRANZ LISZT and with Daniele Agiman at the Conservatorio di Milano GIUSEPPE VERDI. As a guest conductor, Praetorius has worked with orchestras such as the WDR and MDR Symphony Orchestra, the Beethoven Orchester Bonn, the Gürzenich-Orchester Köln, the Stuttgart Philharmonic Orchestra, the Karajan Academy of the Berliner Philharmoniker, the Giuseppe Verdi Symphony Orchestra and the Philharmonic Orchestra Hradec Králové.

During of his studies he was able to take on several performances at the German National Theatre Weimar, the Landestheater Coburg and the Musikalische Komödie Leipzig. He was assistant director and had accompainment assignments at the Deutsche Oper Berlin (*Schatzgräber*, 2022), at the Leipzig Opera (*Tannhäuser*, 2018) and at the Meininger Theatre (*Tosca*, 2017).

In order to enrich his studies, he attended masterclasses with many conductors, among them Christian Thielemann, Marc Albrecht, Sir Donald Runnicles, Johannes Schlaefli, Gunter Kahlert, Ole Kristian Ruud, Arthur Fagen and Stefan Blunier.